Red Bull Global Rallycross is pleased to announce a new race format point structure for the 2014 season. Building upon the foundations of the series’ first three seasons, the new structure is designed to provide added point value for competitors and additional racing action for series fans.

“We’ve made changes to our race format in an effort to give competitors more racing during our expanded slate of two day events,” said Red Bull GRC Director of Competition Joey Mancari. “Our new point system will place extra value on heat participation, while the additional round of heat racing will improve the show for our fans.”

Race weekends will now be comprised of three rounds of heat races, of which the second and third round will score points. Heat groups will also be altered from round to round, meaning that drivers will face an almost entirely new lineup each time they take to the track. All drivers who take to the line in the second and third round of heats will score at least one point, with three points available for the winner. A victory in the final is now worth 50 points.

Practice, seeding, and the initial non-points round of heat races will typically place on the first day of action, while the second day of competition will be comprised of the remaining two rounds of heats, last chance qualifier, and final.

The full point system for heat Rounds 2 and 3 is as follows:

  • 1st place: 3 points
  • 2nd place: 2 points
  • All other participating drivers: 1 point

The full final point system is as follows:

  • 1st place: 50 points
  • 2nd place: 45 points
  • 3rd place: 40 points
  • 4th place: 35 points
  • 5th place: 30 points
  • 6th place: 25 points
  • 7th place: 20 points
  • 8th place: 15 points
  • 9th place: 10 points
  • 10th place: 5 points
  • All other participating drivers: 1 point